Affiliate Faculty

The Institute for African American Studies affiliate faculty are renowned for their research, teaching, and influence in both their respective fields of study and black diaspora studies.

 

Faculty Affiliates

Donna Alvermann

Omer Clyde and Elizabeth Parr Aderhold Professor in Education

Distinguished Research Professor of Language and Literacy Education

dalverma@uga.edu

 

Mary Atwater

Professor of Mathematics and Science Education

atwater@uga.edu

 

Juanita Johnson-Bailey

Professor of Lifelong Education, Administration & Policy

Director of Women Studies

jjb@uga.edu

 

Dawn Bennett-Alexander

Associate Professor of Employment Law & Legal Studies

dawndba@uga.edu

 

Valerie Boyd

Associate Professor of Journalism and Mass Communications

Charlayne Hunter-Gault Distinguished Writer-in-Residence

vboyd@uga.edu

 

Gene Brody

Regents’ Professor of Child and Family Development

Director of the Center for Family Research

gbrody@uga.edu

 

Jepkorir Rose Chepyator-Thomson

Professor of Kinesiology

jchepyat@uga.edu

 

Michelle Cook

Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion and Strategic University Initiatives

mgcook@uga.edu

 

Chris Cuomo

Professor of Philosophy and Women’s Studies

cuomo@uga.edu

 

Diane Edison

Professor of Art

dedison@uga.edu

 

Monica Hargrave

Instructor of Music

harp@uga.edu

 

Jean Kidula

Professor of Musicology/Ethnomusicology

jkidula@uga.edu

 

John Wharton Lowe

Barbara Lester Methvin Distinguished Professor of Southern Literature, English Department

jwlowe@uga.edu

 

Tony Lowe

Associate Professor of Social Work

tblowe@uga.edu

 

Sandy Dwayne Martin

Head and Professor of Religion

martin@uga.edu

 

Barbara McCaskill

Professor of English

Co-Director, Civil Rights Digital Library Initiative

Associate Academic Director, Willson Center for Humanities & Arts

bmccaski@uga.edu

 

Reginald McKnight

Hamilton Holmes Professor of English

mochumpie@gmail.com

 

Diane Miller

Director of Student Academic Services, Franklin College of Arts & Sciences

dmiller@uga.edu

 

John Morrow

Professor of History

jmorrow@uga.edu

 

Akinloye Ojo

Associate Professor of Comparative Literature

Director of African Studies

akinloye@uga.edu

 

Rosemary Phelps

Professor & Coordinator of Undergraduate Services, Department of Counseling and Human Development Services

rephelps@uga.edu

 

Robert A. Pratt

Professor of History

rapratt@uga.edu

 

Daniel Rood

Assistant Professor of History & Director of Graduate Studies

danrood@uga.edu

 

Emily Sahakian

Assistant Professor of Theatre & French, Department of Theatre & Film Studies Undergraduate Coordinator

sahakian@uga.edu

 

Karim Traore

Associate Professor of Comparative Literature

ktraore@uga.edu

 

Dorothy White

Associate Professor of Mathematics and Science Education

dywhite@uga.edu

 

Margaret Wilder

Associate Professor of Counseling & Human Development Services

mwilder@uga.edu