Affiliate Faculty

The Institute for African American Studies affiliate faculty are renowned for their research, teaching, and influence in both their respective fields of study and black diaspora studies.

 

Faculty Affiliates

Donna Alvermann

Omer Clyde and Elizabeth Parr Aderhold Professor in Education

Distinguished Research Professor of Language and Literacy Education  

dalverma@gmail.com

 

Mary Atwater

Professor of Mathematics and Science Education

atwater@uga.edu

 

Juanita Johnson Bailey

Professor of Lifelong Education, Administration & Policy

Director of Women Studies

jjb@uga.edu

 

Dawn Bennett-Alexander

Associate Professor of Institute of Employment Law & Legal Studies

dawnba@gmail.com

 

Valerie Boyd

Associate Professor of Journalism and Mass Communications

Charlayne Hunter-Gault Distinguished Writer-in-Residence

vboyd@uga.edu

 

Gene Brody

Regents’ Professor of Child and Family Development

Director of the Center for Family Research

gbrody@uga.edu

 

Ronald Butchart

Department Head of Elementary & Social Studies Education

Email: butchart@uga.edu

 

Ron Cervero

Associate Vice President for Instruction

rcervero@uga.edu

 

Rose Chepyator-Thomson

Professor of Kinesiology

jchepyat@uga.edu

 

Michelle Cook

Associate Provost for Institutional Diversity

mgcook@uga.edu

 

Chris Cuomo

Professor of Philosophy and Women’s Studies

cuomo@uga.edu

 

Maurice Daniels

Dean and Professor of Social Work

sswdean@uga.edu

 

Mark Dawkins

Associate Dean for Academic Programs & Associate Professor of Accounting

mdawkins@uga.edu

 

Diane Edison

Professor of Art

dedison@uga.edu

 

Tarek Grantham

Associate Professor of Psychology Education & Instructional Technology

grantham@uga.edu

 

Talmadge Guy

Associate Professor of Lifelong Education, Administration & Policy

tguy@uga.edu

 

Monica Hargrave

Instructor of Music

moniharp2@aol.com

 

Tina M. Harris

Professor of Speech Communication

Josiah T. Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor
Email: tmharris@uga.edu

 

Billy Hawkins

Associate Professor and Program Coordinator of Kinesiology

bhawk@uga.edu

 

Robert Hill

Associate Professor of Lifelong Education, Administration & Policy

bobhill@uga.edu

 

Tera Hurt

Assistant Research Scientist

Program for Strong African American Marriages and Promoting Strong Families

terah@uga.edu

 

Jean Kidula

Associate Professor of Musicology/Ethnomusicology

Chair of Ethnomusicology

jkidula@uga.edu

 

John Wharton Lowe

Barbara Lester Methvin Distinguished Professor of Southern Literature

jwlowe@uga.edu

 

Tony Lowe

Associate Professor of Social Work

Email: tblowe@uga.edu

 

Sandy Dwayne Martin

Head and Professor of Religion

martin@uga.edu

 

Barbara McCaskill

Associate Professor of English

Co-Director, Civil Rights Digital Library Initiative

bmccaski@uga.edu

 

Reginald McKnight

Hamilton Holmes Professor of English

mystersandman@gmail.com

 

Diane Miller

Director of Undergraduate Services for the School of Journalism and Mass Communication

dmiller@uga.edu

 

Jerome E. Morris

Professor of Educational Theory & Practice

jemorris@uga.edu

 

John Morrow

Professor of History

jmorrow@uga.edu

 

Lioba Moshi

University Professor of Comparative Literature

Head, Department  of Comparative Literature

moshi@uga.edu

 

Akinloye Ojo

Associate Professor of Comparative Literature

Director of African Studies

akinloye@uga.edu

 

Ed Pavlic

Professor of English and Creative Writing

pavlic@uga.edu

 

Rosemary Phelps

Professor of Counseling and Human Development Services

rephelps@uga.edu

 

Robert A. Pratt

Professor of History

rapratt@uga.edu

 

Daniel Rood

Assistant Professor of History

danrood@uga.edu

 

Emily Sahakian

Assistant Professor of Theatre & French

sahakian@uga.edu

 

Karim Traore

Associate Professor of Comparative Literature

ktraore@uga.edu

 

Dorothy White

Associate Professor of Mathematics and Science Education

dywhite@uga.edu

 

Margaret Wilder

Associate Professor of Counseling & Human Development Services

mwilder@uga.edu

 

Brian Williams

Associate Professor of Public Administration & Policy

bnwillia@uga.edu

 

Sheneka Williams

Assistant Professor of Lifelong Education, Administration & Policy

smwill@uga.edu